Beauty & FashionEau de parfum vs parfum: what’s the difference?
Parfum generally signals a more concentrated fragrance than eau de parfum. The formula and notes can also change, so compare the exact version rather than expecting a fixed wear time.
The difference at a glance
Parfum generally denotes a more concentrated fragrance than eau de parfum, but it can also be a different interpretation of the scent. The label does not promise a particular number of hours, a fixed oil percentage or the same fragrance made stronger. Compare the exact formula and edition. [1] [2]
Eau de parfum is often shortened to EDP. Parfum may also appear as extrait de parfum or perfume extract. In everyday conversation, “perfume” can mean any fragrance; on a product, a concentration label is more specific. That difference matters when you are comparing two bottles with the same main name.
Eau de parfum and parfum compared
What the concentration labels can and cannot tell you| Question | Eau de parfum | Parfum / extrait |
|---|
| General position | Usually below parfum within a fragrance line | Usually a more concentrated interpretation |
|---|
| Exact oil percentage | Not established by the letters EDP alone | Not established by the word parfum alone |
|---|
| Scent composition | May have its own balance of notes | May be reworked, rather than simply concentrated |
|---|
| Wear time | Depends on the particular formula and wearing conditions | Higher concentration can help persistence, but no fixed multiplier |
|---|
| Bottle format | Often a spray | Can also be a spray; not necessarily a dab-on bottle |
|---|
Concentration conventions vary. For example, the core Amouage EDP offerings contain 20–30% perfume oils, while its extraits contain 35–56%. Those are that brand’s stated ranges, not specifications for every EDP or parfum you can buy. Formula matters as well as concentration. [1] [2]
Concentration, strength and duration are different questions
Concentration describes the proportion of fragrance material in the finished liquid. Projection concerns how noticeable a scent is around the wearer, while longevity concerns how long it remains perceptible. A label about the mixture is not itself a measurement of either experience.
More fragrance oil can support a longer-lasting scent, but the effect varies with the formulation. The notes, your skin and wearing conditions also influence what you notice. “Parfum lasts twice as long” is therefore a claim that needs evidence about the actual pair, not a conclusion supplied by the label. [1] [2]
A concrete UK example: two Sauvage versions
The current UK descriptions of Dior Sauvage Eau de Parfum and Dior Sauvage Parfum show why it is useful to compare notes. Both belong to the same fragrance family, but their descriptions emphasise different accords.
Published descriptions, reviewed on 6 October 2026| Detail | Sauvage Eau de Parfum | Sauvage Parfum |
|---|
| Overall emphasis | Citrus and vanilla | Citrus and woody notes |
|---|
| Highlighted notes | Calabrian bergamot and Papua New Guinean vanilla | Mandarin, tonka bean and sandalwood |
|---|
| Format in the reviewed range | Spray; refillable sizes available | Spray; refillable sizes available |
|---|
| Exact oil percentage | Not stated in the reviewed product description | Not stated in the reviewed product description |
|---|
These are the published descriptions, not our own smell test. The contrast is one of emphasis: the Parfum also describes vanilla, so it would be wrong to say it contains no vanilla. Equally, neither product page establishes a numerical wear-time advantage. [3] [4]
A buying example: match the version, not just the name
Imagine Alex is replacing a bottle of Sauvage Eau de Parfum that someone already enjoys. Choosing Sauvage Parfum solely because it sounds stronger could change the gift’s character. The reliable replacement is the same named edition and format. If the aim is to explore something different, compare a sample of the Parfum on its own merits.
Price comparisons also need equal units. In a hypothetical offer, £90 for 50 ml is £1.80 per ml; £120 for 50 ml is £2.40 per ml. The second costs 60p more per ml. Those invented prices teach the calculation; they do not show which bottle lasts longer or represents better value for a particular wearer.
Choose your next comparison step
I want exactly the scent I already own
Read the full label, including eau de parfum, parfum or any other edition name. Match that version before comparing size or refill options. The main fragrance name alone can cover several interpretations.
I want a longer-lasting version
Sample the exact alternatives and allow the scent to develop, rather than buying from a claimed universal hour count. Compare under similar conditions and note the amount used. A concentration label is a useful clue, not a wear-test result. [1] [2]
I prefer woody notes to a vanilla emphasis
In this named pair, the Parfum description puts more emphasis on sandalwood and other woody notes. That makes it an alternative to investigate, not a guarantee of your preference. Its published notes still include vanilla and tonka bean. [3] [4]
FAQ
Does parfum mean pure fragrance oil?
No. It is a concentration description, not a promise of an undiluted oil. Finished fragrances can contain an alcoholic base and other components. [2]
Is parfum always a small bottle applied in drops?
No. The named Parfum example is a spray. Check the actual bottle format rather than inferring it from the concentration word. [4]
Can I assume parfum is better than eau de parfum?
The labels describe versions, not a universal quality ranking. The useful question is which exact scent and format suit your purpose. A faithful replacement and an exploration of a richer interpretation are different shopping goals.
If you are also comparing a lighter concentration, see our eau de parfum and eau de toilette comparison.
Sources
- Frequently Asked Questions — The Perfume Society
- The difference between Eau de Toilette, Eau de Parfum and Extrait de Parfum — Amouage Help Center
- Sauvage Eau de Parfum — DIOR UK
- Sauvage Parfum — DIOR UK
Sources reviewed on 6 October 2026. Worked examples and exercises were written for this article. AI assisted preparation; the featured image is an AI-generated editorial illustration.